The Early Years Foundation Stage

Early years foundation stage
In their early years, children develop and learn at a remarkable rate. That’s why Ofsted produce a framework for all early year’s providers to follow. It’s called the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) and it sets standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to five years old.

At Once upon a time, the EYFS is very much at the centre of what we do for all age groups. At our monthly meetings, our teams plan a wide range of activities designed to support the seven areas of learning, and the children will learn mostly through play and games.
For more information about the EYFSclick here
The EYFS areas of learning are:
  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design